Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia Species Fact Sheet

Polysiphonia perriniae Womersley 1979: 479, fig. 5E.

Phylum Rhodophyta – Family Rhodomelaceae – Tribe Polysiphonieae


Polysiphonia laxa Harvey 1859b: 300; 1863, synop.: xx. J. Agardh 1863: 984. De Toni 1903: 883. Guiler 1952: 103. Lucas 1909: 41; 1929a: 21. Lucas & Perrin 1947: 268. Segi 1966: 509, pl. 15A. Sonder 1880: 34. Tisdall 1898: 514. Wilson 1892: 167. [NON P. laxa Kützing 1843: 427; 1849: 827; 1864: 2, pl. 3a-c, from Venice.]

Thallus (Fig. 81E) dark red-brown, 15–40 cm high, with one to several axes from a clumped base with slight prostrate parts; branching profuse and irregular with long, often denuded, main branches and fasciculate tufts of lesser branches. Attachment by rhizoids from prostrate branches; host uncertain. Structure. Lower axes 200–350 µm in diameter with segments L/D 0.5–1, rhizoids robust, unicellular, 40–80 µm in diameter and cut off from the pericentral cells; branch axes 250–400 µm in diameter, with segments becoming L/D 6–12 (–18) in mid parts of larger plants, decreasing to 100–200 µm in diameter and segments L/D 0.6–3 in lesser branches and to 50–100 µm in diameter and L/D 0.5–1 close to the apices, then tapering to straight apices; branches apparently arising on basal cell of trichoblasts close to apices, with few cicatrigenous branches. Pericentral cells 4, elongate near apices, very long in mid parts and almost isodiametric near the base, ecorticate throughout; trichoblasts or scar cells present on every segment, with a divergence of 1/4. Rhodoplasts discoid, irregularly crowded.

Reproduction: Gametophytes dioecious. Carposporophytes with a slight basal fusion cell and short, branched gonimoblast with clavate terminal carposporangia 25–55 µm in diameter. Cystocarps (Fig. 81F) short-stalked, ovoid to obpyriform, not or scarcely urceolate, 300–600 µm in diameter; pericarp ostiolate, 2 cells thick, outer cells isodiametric, irregular. Spermatangial branches developing as one branch of a trichoblast, 200–300 µm long and 50–100 µm in diameter, apparently without a sterile apical cell when mature.

Tetrasporangia (Fig. 81G) forming spiral series in upper branchlets, not to slightly distorting the branch, 80–100 µm in diameter.

Type from Low Head, Tas. (Perrin, Aug. 1948); holotype in AD, A9004.

Selected specimens: Port Phillip Heads, Vic. (Wilson, 17.xi.1889; MEL, 45486). Low Head, Tas. (Perrin, June 1939; AD, A16491) and (Perrin 1285, Nov. 1949; BM and AD, A49625). Currie R., Tas. (Perrin, Jan. 1938; MEL, 45491). Kangaroo Point, Derwent R., Tas. (Sullivan, Dec. 1871; MEL, 45492). Earlham Lagoon, E coast, Tas., unattached (Heather, 23.ii.1995; AD, A64191). Lewisham, Tas. (Olsen, 15.xi.1950; AD, A16210).

Distribution map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of SA

Distribution: Port Phillip Heads, Victoria, and N and E Tasmania.

Taxonomic notes: P. perriniae, though known from few specimens, appears distinct from other ecorticate southern Australian species with 4 pericentral cells both in habit and in the dimensions of the lower segments, both their diameter and relatively great lengths.


AGARDH, J.G. (1863). Species Genera et Ordines Algarum. Vol. 2, Part 3, pp. 787–1291. (Gleerup: Lund.)

DE TONI, G.B. (1903). Sylloge Algarum omnium hucusque Cognitarum. Vol. 4. Florideae. Sect. 3. pp. 775–1521 + 1523–1525. (Padua.)

GUILER, E.R. (1952). The marine algae of Tasmania. Checklist with localities. Pap. Proc. R. Soc. Tasmania 86, 71–106.

HARVEY, W.H. (1859b). Algae. In Hooker, J.D., The Botany of the Antarctic Voyage. III. Flora Tasmaniae. Vol. II, pp. 282–343, Plates 185–196. (Reeve: London.)

HARVEY, W.H. (1863). Phycologia Australica. Vol. 5, Plates 241–300, synop., pp. i-lxxiii. (Reeve: London.)

KÜTZING, F.T. (1843). Phycologia generalis. (Leipzig.)

KÜTZING, F.T. (1849). Species Algarum. (Leipzig.)

KÜTZING, F.T. (1864). Tabulae Phycologicae. Vol. 14. (Nordhausen.)

LUCAS, A.H.S. & PERRIN, F. (1947). The Seaweeds of South Australia. Part 2. The Red Seaweeds. (Govt Printer: Adelaide.)

LUCAS, A.H.S. (1909). Revised list of the Fucoideae and Florideae of Australia. Proc. Linn. Soc. N.S.W. 34, 9–60.

LUCAS, A.H.S. (1929a). The marine algae of Tasmania. Pap. Proc. R. Soc. Tasm. 1928, 6–27.

SEGI, T. (1966). The type or authentic specimens of Polysiphonia in Europe. Rep. Fac. Fish., Prefect. Univ. Mie 5, 503–516, Plates 1–25.

SONDER, O.W. (1880). In Mueller, F., Fragmenta Phytographiae Australiae. Supplementum ad volumen undecinum: Algae Australianae hactenus cognitae, pp. 1–42, 105–107. (Melbourne.)

TISDALL, H.T. (1898). The algae of Victoria. Rep. 7th Meet. Aust. Ass. Adv. Sci., Sydney, 1898, pp. 493–516.

WILSON, J.B. (1892). Catalogue of algae collected at or near Port Phillip Heads and Western Port. Proc. R. Soc. Viet. 4, 157–190.

WOMERSLEY, H.B.S. (1979). Southern Australian species of Polysiphonia Greville (Rhodophyta). Aust. J. Bot. 27, 459–528.

The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia Part IIID complete list of references.

Publication: Womersley, H.B.S. (24 February, 2003)
The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia
Rhodophyta. Part IIID. Ceramiales – Delesseriaceae, Sarcomeniaceae, Rhodomelaceae
Reproduced with permission from The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia Part IIID 2003, by H.B.S. Womersley. Australian Biological Resources Study, Canberra. Copyright Commonwealth of Australia.

Illustration in Womersley Part IIIA, 2003: FIG. 81 E–G.

Figure 81 image

Figure 81   enlarge

Fig. 81. A–D. Polysiphonia sertularioides (A, AD, A41531; B–D, AD, A49286). A. Habit. B. Branches with cystocarps. C. Spermatangial branches. D. Tetrasporangiai branches. E–G. Polysiphonia perriniae (E, AD, A9004; F, G, AD, A64191). E. Habit. F. Cystocarps. G. Branches with tetrasporangia. (A, B, D, E as in Womersley 1979, courtesy of Aust. J. Bot.)

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water