Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia Genus Fact Sheet

Genus ANISOSCHIZUS Huisman & Kraft 1982: 185

Phylum Rhodophyta – Order Ceramiales – Family Ceramiaceae – Tribe Monosporeae

Reproduction: Propagules ovoid, 2-celled with the upper cell larger, borne on a very short stalk cell.

Gametophytes dioecious. Procarps borne on the subapical cell of a 2-celled axis on a larger hypogenous cell, with 3 periaxial cells, one being the supporting cell with a 4-celled carpogonial branch and an apical sterile cell. Post-fertilization auxiliary cells are cut off the supporting cell and the opposite periaxial cell and each develops 2–3 gonimolobes. Carpogonial branch cells fuse and sterile procarp cells each produce 1–3 branched inner involucral filaments enveloping the carposporophyte. Spermatangial heads are borne singly on median cells of the thallus.

Polysporangia occur in branch axils, subspherical, with 8 spores.

Type species: A. propaguli Huisman & Kraft 1982: 185.

Taxonomic notes: Thallus erect, ecorticate, of slender much branched filaments arising from prostrate axes attached by rhizoids. Cells multinucleate.

Anisoschizus is a monospecific genus, named and distinguished by the propagules with 2 unequal cells.


HUISMAN, J.M. & KRAFT, G.T. (1982). Deucalion gen. nov. and Anisoschizus gen. nov. (Ceramiaceae, Ceramiales), two new propagule-forming red algae from southern Australia. .1. Phycol.18, 177–192.

The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia Part IIIC complete list of references.

Author: J.M. Huisman & H.B.S. Womersley

Publication: Womersley, H.B.S. (24 December, 1998)
The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia
Rhodophyta. Part IIIC. Ceramiales – Ceramiaceae, Dasyaceae
©State Herbarium of South Australia, Government of South Australia

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water