Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia Species Fact Sheet

Sphacelaria reinkei Sauvageau 1900: 317 (R46), fig. 12.

Phylum Phaeophyta – Order Sphacelariales – Family Sphacelariaceae

Selected citations: Womersley 1967: 200.


S. borneti sensu Reinke 1891: 15 (Australian record only).

Thallus (Fig. 47H) medium brown, 2–4 (–6) mm long, forming small clumps on Cystophora spp. and Amphibolis, with several to numerous axes with basal rhizoids penetrating the host surface cells. Branching (Fig. 47H) slight to moderate, irregularly radial with laterals mostly at narrow angles to axes; apical cells of mature laterals small (Fig. 471); phaeophycean hairs present. Axes (Fig. 47J) (35–) 40–55 (–65) µm in diameter, primary segments L/B (0.4–) 0.5–1.0; laterals (20–) 25–35 µm in diameter with primary segments L/B 0.3–0.8 (–1.0); secondary transverse walls frequent; pericysts numerous (Fig. 47J).

Reproduction: Reproduction by unilocular sporangia (Fig. 47K) in adaxial rows of 2–5 on short, slightly curved, laterals,.sympodially developed, ovoid, 30–45 µm long and 15–25 (–30) µm in diameter. Plurilocular sporangia (Fig. 47L) on short, often branched, laterals, ovoid, 25–40 µm long, and 20–25 µm in diameter.

Type from George Town, Tas., on Cystophora subfarcinata (F. Mueller); in Herb. Thuret, PC.

Selected specimens: Tiparra reef, S. Aust., 12 m deep on Amphibolis (Shepherd, 27.vii.1970; ADU, A36004, unilocular sporangia). Robe, S. Aust., upper sublittoral on Cystophora subfarcinata (Womersley, 30.viii.1949; ADU, A11007, plurilocular sporangia). Low Head, Tas., on Cystophora torulosa (Perrin, Aug. 1948; ADU, A9318, plurilocular sporangia). Safety Cove, Port Arthur, Tas., on Cystophora, upper sublittoral (Gordon, 13.i.1966; ADU, A30027, unilocular sporangia). Taroona, Hobart, Tas., on Cystophora moniliformis (Womersley, 13.i.1949; ADU, A10124, unilocular sporangia).

Distribution map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of SA

Distribution: From Tiparra reef, S. Aust. to Anglesea, Vic., and around Tas., usually on Cystophora spp.


REINKE, J. (1891). Beiträge zur vergleichenden Anatomie und Morphologie der Sphacelariaceen. Bibl. Bot. 23, 1–40, Plates 1–13.

SAUVAGEAU, C. (1900–1914). Remarques sur les Sphacélariacées. This was published as follows: pp. 1–51, J. de Bot. 14 (1900); pp. 51–167, Ibid. 15 (1901); pp. 167–228, Ibid. 16 (1902); pp. 228–332, Ibid. 17 (1903); pp. 332–348, Ibid. 18 (1904); pp. 348–480? (1904) and pp. 481–634 (1914), separately published with the above reprinted, 1914. (Bordeaux.)

WOMERSLEY, H.B.S. (1967). A critical survey of the marine algae of southern Australia. II. Phaeophyta. Aust. J. Bot. 15, 189–270.

The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia Part II complete list of references.

Author: H.B.S. Womersley

Publication: Womersley, H.B.S. (14 December, 1987)
The Marine Benthic Flora of Southern Australia
Part II
©Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium, Government of South Australia

Illustration in Womersley Part II, 1997: FIG. 47 H–L.

Figure 47 image

Figure 47   enlarge

Fig. 47. A–C. Sphacelaria multiplex (ADU, A34204, holotype). A. Erect filaments from host thallus, bearing plurilocular sporangia. B. Filament with apical cell, phaeophycean hairs and unilocular sporangia. C. Cluster of plurilocular sporangia. D–G. Sphacelaria implicata (ADU, A26528). D. Branching pattern of thallus. E. Branches with plurilocular sporangia on short laterals. F. Apex of filament with apical cell. G. Filament with plurilocular sporangia. H–L. Sphacelaria reinkei (H,J, ADU, A18462, ex type; I,K, ADU, A10124; L, ADU, A11007). H. Branching pattern of thallus. I. Apex of filament. J. Older branch with laterals and pericysts. K. Branch with short laterals bearing unilocular sporangia. L. Branch with plurilocular sporangia.

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water