Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Wurmbea dioica

Citation: F. Muell., Fragm. Phyt. Aust. 10:119 (1877) subsp. dioica.

Synonymy: Anguillaria dioica R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 273 (1810).

Common name: None

Plants 3.5-20 cm to the top of the inflorescence; leaves usually well separated along the stem, occasionally the lower 2 both basal; lowest leaf filiform or more or less linear, 0.5-5 mm broad; second leaf usually dilated at the base then the rest of the blade filiform or narrow and tapering, occasionally the second leaf basal and resembling the lowest leaf.

Flowers 1-11, unisexual (plants dioecious), rarely 1 or more bisexual, white or pinkish-purple with purple nectaries, or (in the north of the range) greenish-yellow with similarly coloured nectaries; perianth-segments 3.5-11.5 mm long, connate at the base; nectary 1 per perianthsegment, consisting of a broad slightly thickened straight or curved transverse band one-quarter to one-half from the base of the segment; anthers purple.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 181.

Distribution:  Occurs in numerous soil and vegetation types.

  Qld; N.S.W.; Vic.; Tas.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: July — Sept.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: The plants in the northern part of the range (LE, GT and part of FR) and also in western N.S.W. (see Cunningham (1982) p. 181), exhibit a different coloration from and relatively broader perianth-segments than those of the common form of the subspecies in S.Aust. and eastern Australia. A second subspecies, subsp. alba, occurs in W.Aust.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water