Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Solanaceae
Nicotiana maritima

Citation: H. Wheeler, Univ. Calif. Publ. Bot. 18:56 (1935).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: Coast tobacco.

Herb to 0.7 m high, rarely taller; leaves and stems variably pubescent with non-glandular hairs, usually grey-or white-woolly at the base of glabrescent stems; leaves mostly radical, with fairly broadly winged and often slightly stem-clasping petioles to 9 cm long, or upper cauline leaves subsessile to sessile; lamina to 13 rarely 22 cm long, ovate or elliptic, occasionally widely so or spathulate, upper cauline leaves to narrow-elliptic or lanceolate, occasionally linear.

Inflorescence paniculate, usually few-branched, with sparse to dense pubescence of glandular hairs; calyx 6-12 rarely 16 mm long; corolla tube 13-25 rarely 30 mm long, usually 2-5 mm wide at the top of the calyx; limb 7.5-20 rarely 24 mm diam., lobes obtuse or usually emarginate; upper 4 stamens level or almost so.

Capsule 6-12 mm long, ellipsoid to ovoid-ellipsoid or widely so; seeds 0.6-1.1 mm long, reniform or acutely angled; testa irregularly honeycombed or wrinkled.

image of FSA3_Nicotiana_mar.jpg Flowering branch.
Image source: fig. 570A in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Horton (1981) J. Adelaide Bot. Gard. 3:36, fig. 12b.

Distribution:  Grows in sand in rocky areas, often near the coast.

S.Aust.: FR, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   ?Vic.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: most times of the year, particularly in spring.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water