Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Myrtaceae
Melaleuca linariifolia

Citation: Smith, Trans. Linn. Soc. 3:278 (1797) var. trichostachya (Lindley)Benth., Fl. Aust. 3:141 (1867).

Synonymy: M. trichostachya Lindley in T.L. Mitchell, J. Trop. Austral. 277 (1848); Metrosideros hyssopifolia Cav., Icon. 4:20, t. 336 (1797); M. stricta Horl. ex Dum.-Cours., Bot. Cult. edn 2, 5:375 (1811).

Common name: Narrow-leaved honey-myrtle.

Tree to 10 m high, glabrous except for the pubescent young shoots, bracts and rhachis: leaves mostly decussate, often displaced or spiral distally on the stems, linear-lanceolate, 15-25 mm long, 1-2 mm broad, acuminate-acute, finely gland-dotted and with visible midrib on both surfaces, sessile.

Flowers 6-20 in monads (mostly in opposite pairs) in mostly terminal spikes with the axis growing on; bracts deciduous, grading from leaf-like to scarious and ovate and c. 2 mm long; bracteoles ovate, c. 1 mm long; hypanthium bell-like, c. 1.5 mm long; sepals narrowly triangular, 1-1.5 mm long, semipersistent; stamens in bundles of 30-60, white; claws 5-8 mm long; free parts of filaments arising pinnately, 1-2 mm long.

Fruit thin, turbinate, c. 1.5 mm high, 2-4 mm diam., with protruding valves, in distant spikes on woody stems.

Distribution:    N.T.; Qld; N.S.W.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: in winter and spring.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: S.Aust. plants belong to var. trichostachya (Lindley)Benth., which probably should have subspecific or specific stalus. Carrick & Chorney (1979) considered M. trichostachya to be a distinct species not occurring in S.Aust.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water