Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Compositae
Leptorhynchos tenuifolius

Citation: F. Muell., Fragm. Phyl. Aust. 1:52 (1858).

Synonymy: Leptorrhynchus tenuifolius

Common name: Wiry buttons.

Erect sparingly branched perennial herb 30-40 cm tall, with tufted roots, with stems enveloped in fibrous leaf bases below; stems and branches wiry, with a sparse woolly-cobwebby vestiture; leaves narrowly linear, with margins revolute, concealing much of the underside, with an acute apex and a scarcely to strongly sheathing base, especially in the lower parts, mostly 2.5-6 cm long, c. 1 mm wide, on the upper side glabrous, on the underside closely white woolly-tomentose except for the glabrous mid-vein.

Peduncles 5-15 cm long; capitula campanulate, 5-7 mm long; involucral bracts extending down the peduncle; outer bracts linear-lanceolate, acute, with a herbaceous base, dark-brown in the lower half, golden-brown or orange-brown towards the tips, scarious, in the lower half enveloped with cobwebby hairs, margins long-ciliate, the cilia in length equal to or slightly greater than the width of the bracts; inner bracts with linear herbaceous glandular-pubescent claws and subulate laminae; florets bright-yellow.

Achenes oblong-elliptic, scarcely contracted at the apex, compressed, glabrous; pappus bristles three-quarters as long as the floret, barbellate from the base, more strongly so at the summit, of bisexual florets usually 4, possibly up to 7, of female florets usually none.

Distribution:  Recorded from open swampy areas in sandy soils.

S.Aust.: SE.   Vic.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Nov. — March.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water