Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Haloragaceae
Glischrocaryon behrii

Citation: Orch., Bull. Auckland Inst. Mus. 10:160 (1975).

Synonymy: Loudonia behrii Schldl., Linnaea 20:648 (1847).

Common name: None

Perennial herb 30-50 cm tall; stems numerous, 1-2 mm diam.; leaves terete to linear or narrow-lanceolate, 15-25 mm long rarely as little as 5 mm, 1-2 (rarely 3) mm wide, often deciduous.

Inflorescence a flat-topped cyme, consisting of 5 or 6 compound dichasia of 7-63 flowers; primary bracts green, narrow-lanceolate, 7-9 mm long, 1-2 mm wide, adnate to the lower part of the peduncle; bracteoles narrowly oblanceolate, 1-2 mm long; flowers 2-merous, on pedicels 1-3 mm long, yellow; sepals deltoid, 7-10 mm long, decurrent as wings on the ovary; petals hooded, 35-40 mm long rarely shorter, tips not reflexed in bud; stamens 4; anthers linear-oblong, 1.5-2.7 mm long; styles 0.5-0.7 mm long, stigmas yellow; ovary compressed, pear-shaped, 3-3.5 mm long, 2-2.5 mm wide, 2-winged, with longitudinal saccate swellings opposite the sepals.

fruit yellow to reddish, on a pedicel 2-5 mm long, obovate, 8.5-10 mm long, 7.5-9.5 mm wide, 2-winged, with a saccate longitudinal swelling opposite the sepals, sepals enlarged, decurrent in wings.

Published illustration: Orchard (in press) Fl. Aust. 18.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   Vic.; N.S.W.; King Island.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Aug. — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: Occasional collections from KI with 3-merous flowers and fruits are assumed to be hybrids between G. behrii and G. aureum.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water