Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia infraspecific Fact Sheet

Family: Scrophulariaceae
Euphrasia collina ssp. tetragona

Citation: W.R. Barker, J. Adelaide Bot. Gard. 5:189 (1982).

Synonymy: E. tetragona R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 436 (1810). , Euphrasia brownii

Common name: None

Upper leaves and lowest bracts on main branches 4.6-14.3 x 1.8-6 rarely to 9.6 mm, sometimes eglandular-scabrous on the upper surface, with 0-4 usually 1 or 2 pairs of teeth.

Calyx 4.7-10 mm long, externally glabrous; corolla 9-17 mm long along the upper side, white to deep-mauve or lavender, with a yellow or orange blotch behind the lowest lobe, pubescent externally except on the lobes, the lower lobes emarginate, often deeply so; anther cells 1.5-3 mm long excluding the awns, the rear awns 0.2-0.5 rarely to 0.1 mm long.

Capsules 7.5-12 mm long, glabrous or setose at the very apex; seeds 0.5-1 mm long.

image of FSA3_Euphrasia_col_tet.jpg Leaf and flower.
Image source: fig. 598A in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: W.R. Barker (1982) J. Adelaide Bot. Gard. 5:figs 7, 48F-G, 69 & 70; (1984) Austral. pl. 12, 100:341.

Distribution:  Forming localised populations mainly in coastal regions, but also inland in the 90-Mile Desert (SE); in sandy soil of sclerophyllous woodlands and shrublands, on dunes, swales and clifftops.

S.Aust.: FR, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   W.Aust.; ?N.S.W.; Vic.; Tas.

Flowering time: Aug. — Feb. (March).

Biology: Plants from the south coast of KI tend to have branching higher up the main branches than elsewhere; those from east of the Mt Lofty Ranges tend to have narrower leaves than western populations. In exposed coastal sites leaves are very fleshy.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water