Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Myrtaceae
Eucalyptus gracilis

Citation: F. Muell., J. Trans. Vict. Inst. 1:35 (1855).

Synonymy: E. gracilis F. Muell. var. erecta Blakely, Key Eucalypts 266 (1934). , Eucalyptus calycogona

Common name: Yorrell, white mallee.

Multi-stemmed and up to 3 m high or single-stemmed and up to 12 m; bark smooth, whitish with rough dark-grey bark at the base; cotyledons deeply 2-fid; juvenile leaves opposite at first, sessile or petiolate, linear to ovate-lanceolate; adult leaves alternate, on petioles 4-15 mm long, narrow-lanceolate to lanceolate, glossy, darkish-green, 4-9 x 0.6-0.8 cm.

Flowers in umbels of up to 7 in the axils of the leaves; buds on pedicels 1-4 mm long, obovoid, 4-5 x 3-4 mm; operculum conical or depressed-conical, shorter than the often 2-ridged hypanthium; flowers white; outer stamens sterile, longer than the inner ones; anthers broadly reniform.

Fruits oblong-hemispherical to pear-shaped, often 2-ridged, thin-walled (narrow-rimmed), 4-6 x 3-5 mm; disk descending; valves small, deeply enclosed or occasionally with their apices at rim level; seeds red-brown, ellipsoid, faintly reticulate.

Published illustration: Chippendale (1973) Eucalypts of Western Australian goldfields, p. 133; Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 531.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NW, NU, GT, FR, EA, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   W.Aust.; N.S.W.; Vic.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Feb. — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: This species and E. calycogona are the only ones in S.Aust. with many sterile outer stamens twice as long as the fertile ones.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water