Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Eucalyptus burracoppinensis

Citation: Maiden & Blakely, J. R. Soc. N.S.W. 59:178 (1925).

Synonymy: E. pachyphylla sensu J. Black, Fl. S. Aust. 625 (1952), non F. Muell.

Common name: Burracoppin mallee.

Multi-stemmed trees to c. 6 m high, often with curved stems; bark smooth, grey, some dark-grey rough bark and strips of old bark usually persisting at the base; cotyledons deeply 2-fid; juvenile leaves opposite or alternate, peltolate, linear-lanceolate to lanceolate; adult leaves alternate, on petioles to 2 cm long, lanceolate, 8-12 x 1-3 cm, light-green, dullish; veins somewhat obscure, opposite, in 25 or more pairs.

Flowers in umbels of 3 in the axils of the leaves; buds on pedicels 3-10 mm long, subglobose, 15-30 x 10-20 mm; operculum rostrate, ribbed, longer than the hypanthium; flowers whitish-cream to yellow; anthers all fertile, oblong-ovate.

Fruit woody, hemispherical or shallowly conical or biconical with a broad ascending disk, smooth or with a few low ribs, 12-26 x 18-26 mm; valves broad, exserted; seeds D-shaped or falcate, slightly winged, reticulate, brown.

Published illustration: Chippendale (1973) Eucalypts of Western Australian goldfields, p. 128.

Distribution:    W.Aust.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: No flowering time is available

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: The record for S.Aust. is based on a single collection made by Helms in 1891 allegedly from the Birksgate Range. Should this occurrence be confirmed the disjunct distribution of this species would closely parallel that of the related E. ewartiana.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water