Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Eremophila willsii

Citation: F. Muell., Fragm. Phyt. Ausl. 3:21 (1862).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: None

Shrub 0.5-1.5 m tall; branches non-tuberculate or tuberculate, glandular-pubescent; leaves alternate, clustered and usually overlapping, elliptic to narrowly or broadly obovate, 10-45 x 4-21 mm, acute or obtuse, but with a small mucro, margins serrate or entire, glabrous but prominently glandular-punctate or glandular-pubescent.

Flowers 1 or rarely 2 or 3 in the axil; pedicel 2-10 mm long, straight, glandular-pubescent; sepals imbricate, unequal, green, outer 2 ovate, inner 3 lanceolate, 9-18 x 3-9 mm, acute or obtuse, both surfaces glandular-pubescent; corolla 15-25 mm long, purple more rarely lilac or white, tube white with prominent red to blackish-purple bands running down the lateral walls, outside surface pubescent with long eglandular and short glandular hairs; inside of tube villous but with a dense woolly band extending down the tube from the base of the lobes of the upper lip; stamens included, glabrous; ovary and style villous.

Fruit dry, ovoid, 6-11 x 2.5-6 mm, villous.

image of FSA3_Eremophila_wil.jpg Branch and flower. Leaf variation.
Image source: fig. 612I in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Elliot & Jones (1984) Encyclopaedia of Australian plants 3:463.

Distribution:  Usually found on red sand dunes and adjacent swale areas or on deep sand plains.

  W.Aust.; N.T.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: mainly July — Dec.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water