Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Myoporaceae
Eremophila freelingii

Citation: F. Muell., Pap. R. Soc. Tasm. 3:295 (1859).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: Limestone fuchsia, rock fuchsia-bush.

Shrub 1-2 m high; branches obscurely tuberculate, sparsely to very densely eglandular-pubescent; leaves alternate, lanceolate to elliptic, 27-86 x 4-12.5 mm, acute to acuminate, margins entire, minutely pubescent but hairs often obscured by a resinous layer.

Flowers 1 or 2 per axil; pedicel 8-30 mm long, pubescent; sepals unequal, green to purplish, ovate to lanceolate, 9-22 x 1.5-10 mm, the adaxial one much longer, its base continuing down and forming a wing in the distal part of the pedicel, ovate, other sepals lanceolate, acute to acuminate, pubescent; corolla 20-32 mm long, lilac to white, tube white inside, faintly lilac-spotted on lateral walls, outside surface pubescent, inside surface pubescent but woolly below the lobes of the upper lip and the medial lobe of the lower lip, lobes acute; stamens included, glabrous; ovary glandular-puberulent; style pilose; hairs simple.

Fruit dry, ovoid, 6-9 x 3-4.5 mm, glandular-pubescent.

image of FSA3_Eremophila_fre.jpg Branch, flower and fruit.
Image source: fig. 610I in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 612.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NW, LE, GT, FR, EA.   Common on red-brown clay soils in rocky situations.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: mainly May — Sept.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water