Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Myoporaceae
Eremophila deserti

Citation: Chinn., comb. nov.

Synonymy: Myoporum desertl Cunn. ex Benth. in Endl., Enum. Pl. Hügel 78 (1837). , Myoporum deserti, Myoporum patens, Myoporum strictum

Common name: Turkey-bush.

Glabrous shrub 1-4 m high; branches obscurely tuberculate or non-tuberculate, sometimes viscid towards branch tips; leaves alternate, scattered, linear to oblanceolate, 20-55 x 3-8 mm, acute, apex uncinate, thick, margins entire; flowers 1-4 per axil; pedicel 5-10 mm, recurved sepals slightly imbricate at the base, triangular, 2-3 x 0.5-1 mm, acuminate, glabrous; corolla 4-7 mm long, almost rotate, cream, unspotted, glabrous outside and inside or inside of lobes pubescent towards the base; stamens included, filaments glabrous or pubescent towards the base, anthers sagittate, glabrous; ovary and style glabrous.

Fruit drupaceous, succulent, ovoid to subglobular, 4-6.5 x 4-5.5 mm, glabrous.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 615.

Distribution:  Widespread on plains and in ranges on various soils in mulga or mallee.

S.Aust.: NW, LE, NU, GT, FR, EA, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL.   All mainland States.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: mainly May — Sept.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: This species is closely allied to E. santalina and another undescribed species found in W.Aust. and S. Aust. The three species are vegetatively very similar, have sagittate anthers and show a transition in corolla form from an actinomorphic one with a short tube in E. deserti to a zygomorphic one with a long tube in E. santalina.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water