Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Portulacaceae
Calandrinia ptychosperma

Citation: F. Muell., Fragm. Phyt. Aust. 4:137 (1864).

Synonymy: C. maryonii S. Moore, J. Linn. Soc.(Bot.) 45:164 (1920); C. morrisiae Goy, Proc. R. Soc. Qld 50:68 (1939). , Parakeelya ptychosperma

Common name: Creeping parakeelya.

Prostrate to decumbent annual with stems to 40 cm long, leaves basal and on flowering stems, alternate, sessile, linear to lanceolate, often terete, basal leaves 0.5-7 x 0.1-0.3 cm.

Pedicels 3.5-5 mm long, erect to spreading in fruit; bracts opposite, scarious or sometimes with one leafy and one scarious at each node; sepals broad-ovate, 2.5-5 mm long, persistent; petals 4-7, pink to purple, elliptic to oblanceolate or oblong, 5-9 mm long, 1.5-2.5 mm wide; stamens 6-11; stigmas 4, free to the base.

Capsule ovoid to conical, 4-valved, 5-7 mm long, exceeding the sepals; seeds numerous, obovoid, a dark red-brown to black, subshiny, with 6-10 concentric ribs, 0.5 -0.7 mm long, 0.4-0.6 mm wide.

image of FSA1_Calandrinia_pty.jpg Seed
Image source: fig. 125i in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 299; Rotherham et al. (1975) Flowers and plants of New South Wales and southern Queensland, fig. 535.

Distribution:  Grows in arid regions, often in sandy watercourses or low-lying areas, but also in rocky loams and clay pans.

S.Aust.: NW, LE, GT, FR, EA.   W.Aust.; N.T.; Qld; N.S.W.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: July — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water