Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Rubiaceae
Asperula conferta

Citation: Hook. f., London J. Bot. 6:464 (1847).

Synonymy: A. oligantha F. Muell., Fragm. Phyt. Aust. 9:187 (1875), nom. illegit.; A. scoparia sensu J. Black, Fl. S. Aust. 798 (1957), non Hook. f.

Common name: Common woodruff.

Perennials with a slightly woody base, with branches rarely longer than 20 cm, often much-branched, erect to decumbent; stems quadrangular, rarely terete later, more or less covered with slightly bent hairs; leaves and stipules about equal, in whorls of 5 or 6, linear, rarely linear-lanceolate, 2-12 mm long, acute or cuspidate, with a terminal hair usually slightly recurved rarely wearing off with age, usually with short straight hairs along the margin and the central vein on the undersurface, erect to spreading and often reflexed later.

Inflorescence 1-3 terminal dichasia each with 3 or more flowers; corolla white and sparsely papillate inside.

Fruit 3-4 mm long, deeply lobed but usually not breaking apart.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 619.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: FR, EA, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   Qld; N.S.W.; Vic.; Tas.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Sept. — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: Records of A. scoparia from S.Aust. are based on wrong interpretations of A. conferta which often also has a colourless terminal hair on the leaves but, unlike those of A. scoparia, the apex is usually cuspidate and recurved at least when young (see Burbidge & Gray (1970) Flora of the A.C.T.).

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water