Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Asparagaceae
Thysanotus patersonii

Citation: R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 284 (1810).

Synonymy: T. patersonii R. Br. var. exfimbriatus J. Black, Fl. S. Aust. 191 (1943), nom invalid.

Common name: Twining fringe-lily. (I11. Williamson (1928) Victorian Nat. 45:fig. 1, 93; Clyne et al. (1976) Australian wildflowers, 176; Brittan (1981) Brunonia 4:135, 136, figs 17a, 18a as T. patersonii subsp. patersonii.)

Perennial herb, with tuberous roots consisting of a group of ellipsoid tubers, sessile or shortly pedicellate from a small rootstock; leaves produced infrequently, 1 or 2, radical, linear, terete, 10-20 cm tall; stems usually 1, occasionally 2, produced annually, terete and hirsute at the base, becoming quadrangular and glabrous above; stem twining around vegetation, or in the absence of such support trailing along the ground; branches usually many, each unbranched to several times dichotomously branched, finally each branch terminating in a single flower; bracts 2, 1-2 mm long, opposed.

Pedicel c. 1.5 mm long; perianth-segments 6-11 mm long, the length of the fimbriae on the 3 inner variable; stamens 6; anthers more or less all the same length, dehiscing by full length longitudinal slits; capsule more or less globular, usually completely filling the persistent perianth parts.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NW, FR, EA, EP, NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   All States (temperate parts) except N.T. but including Tas., where it is the sole representative of the genus.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Aug. — Nov.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water