Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia genus Fact Sheet

Family: Poaceae

Citation: Forsskål, Fl. Aegypt.-Arab. 178 (1775).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: None

Perennials; leaf blade various; ligule scarious or membranous.

Inflorescence a panicle, with the spikelets arranged in spikelet-like racemes; spikelets with 1 bisexual floret, male or sterile, clustered on the fragile rhachis of the short racemes, each raceme subtended by a sheathing bract; 4 male or sterile persistent spikelets whorled at the base of, and forming a sort of involucre round, the 1 bisexual spikelet, sessile between 2 pedicellate male or sterile ones, which occupy the summit of the raceme; glumes of the fertile spikelet rigid, rounded on the back, the first obscurely 5-7-nerved, the second 3-nerved; the first lemma small and hyaline the second (fertile) lemma consisting almost entirely of a stiff awn rising from a very short narrow entire hyaline base; male or sterile spikelets green, acute, awnless; the fertile spikelet with its 2 accompanying pedicellate spikelets has a long hairy acute callus which breaks away from the 4 sessile involucral spikelets below it and which are permanent; the male or sterile spikelets lanceolate, with or without lemmas, the first glume flattish on the back, green, with a keel near each margin and 9-11-nerved between the 2 keels, the second hyaline and nearly as long.

Distribution:  About 10 species from Africa, Asia and Australia.

Biology: No text

Key to Species:
1. Fertile spikelets densely pubescent with brown hairs; 2 of the 4 involucral spikelets shortly pedicellate
T. avenacea 1.
1. Fertile spikelets glabrous except at the summit; the 4 involucral spikelets all sessile
T. triandra 2.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water