Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Amaranthaceae
Sclerolaena divaricata

Citation: Smith in Rees, Cyclop. 31:4 ( 1815).

Synonymy: Anisacantha divaricata R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 1:410 (1810); Bassia divaricata (R. Br.)F. Muell., Syst. Census Aust. Pl. 1:30 (1882). , Bassia erinacea

Common name: Poverty-bush, tangled copperburr, pale poverty-bush, tangled bassia.

Rounded perennial, glabrous except for the axillary pubescence; leaves terete, c. 10 mm long.

Flowers solitary, glabrous outside except for the ciliate perianth lobes; stamens 3.

Fruiting perianth glabrous, somewhat dorsiventrally compressed, appressed to the branch, cuneate-oblong, c. 2.5 mm long, firmly attached but eventually deciduous, straw-coloured; base slightly concave; attachment very oblique, ovate, slightly 2-spurred; spines 4 (the inner of the radicular pair much smaller than the others), spreading, slender, the 3 longer 5-15 mm long (2 spreading laterally and in line, 1 abaxially), the small inner radicular spine straight and parallel with its neighbour, 1-3 mm long; limb incurved; seed erect; radicle erect.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 252; Cochrane et al. (1968) Flowers and plants of Victoria, fig. 144.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NW, LE, GT, FR, EA, EP, MU.   N.S.W.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Flowers and/or fruits: May — Nov.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: S. caput-casuarii (J.H. Willis)A.J. Scott, Reprium nov. Spec. Regni veg. 89:111 (1978) is probably a hybrid between S. divaricata and Osteocarpum acropterum.--Bassia caput-casuarii J.H. Willis, Victorian Nat. 73:153 (1957).

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water