Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Pultenaea villifera

Citation: Sieber ex DC., Prod. 2:111 (1825) var. glabrescens J. Black, Trans. R. Soc. S. Aust. 47:370 (1923).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: Yellow bush-pea.

Shrub with terete villous stems; leaves pedicellate, ovate-lanceolate, 10-20 x 3-8 mm, pungent-pointed, the midrib and often 2 or more lateral veins prominent, often covered with minute tubercules more so on the margins, upper surface flat or concave by the incurved or involute villous margins, veins often villous, lower surface rarely pubescent; stipules narrow-lanceolate, 3-6 mm long, connate or free, midrib often pubescent, ending in an acuminate point; margins hyaline, ciliate.

Flower subsessile, 10-12 mm long, axillary, single; bracts absent; bracteoles attached at the base of the calyx tube, lanceolate, c. 3 mm long, longer than the tube, brown, leathery, the midrib and base villous; margins scarious, ciliate or pubescent; calyx 4-6 mm long, leathery-papery, brown, pubescent basally and on the ciliate lobes; upper 2 broader, ovate-acute, united higher up, not falcate; lower narrower, acuminate, shorter or longer than the tube; standard suborbicular, longer than broad, yellow; wings shorter, on slender and long claws, yellow, oblong, auriculate above the claw; keel equalling the wings, falcate-oblong in outline, crimson; ovary and lower style pubescent.

Pod ovate, acute, c. 5 mm long, turgid, brown, pubescent, 2-seeded; seed cordiform to reniform, c. 2.5 mm long, dark-brown, smooth.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Oct. — Nov.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water