Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Ericaceae
Leucopogon rufus

Citation: Lindley in T.L. Mitchell, Three Exped. Int. eastern Austral. 2:178 (1839).

Synonymy: Styphelia rufa (Lindley)F. Muell., Fragm. Phyt. Aust. 6:46 (1867).

Common name: Ruddy bearded-heath.

Erect shrub, 20-90 cm high; stems grey-brown; leaves erect to spreading, rarely stem-clasping at the base, ovate, 4-18 (rarely to 27.5) mm long, 1.2-5.5 mm wide, apex acuminate, straight or recurved, with an aristate tip 0.6-1.5 mm long; base almost obtuse, sometimes cordate, glabrous, margin often serrulate, lamina concave, surfaces discolorous, paler below; sessile or on a petiole to 0.5 mm.

Flowers pink, in solitary axillary spikes 6-9 mm long, with 2-9 flowers per spike; peduncles reduced, inconspicuous; bracts 0.8-2 x 0.6-1.4 mm, nearly obtuse; bracteoles 1.4-2 x 1.4-1.8 mm, obtuse, apiculate; sepals sometimes triangular, 3.1-4.6 x 0.7-1.6 mm, acute; corolla tube cylindrical, 2-4 mm long, upper 0.8-1.5 mm puberulent inside, lobes 1.8-3 x 0.5-0.8 mm, acute, spreading to recurved, densely and shortly bearded inside; anthers 1.1-1.4 mm long, without a sterile tip; ovary 0.7-1.2 x 0.45-0.7 mm, 3-celled; style 2.1-4.2 mm long, sparsely hairy towards the base, exserted from the corolla tube; nectary separating into scales, 0.45-0.9 mm high, the upper margin toothed or rounded.

Fruit ovoid, 5.7-6.5 x 2-2.9 mm, exceeding the calyx, apex pointed.

Distribution:  Occurs in open forest, mallee scrub and heathlands, on sand over granite and limestone.


Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Nov. — March, May — June; fruit: Aug. — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water