Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Campanulaceae
Isotoma petraea

Citation: F. Muell., Linnaea 25:420 (1853).

Synonymy: Laurentia petraea (F. Muell.)E. Wimmer, Annln naturh. Mus. Wien 56:336 (1948).

Common name: Rock isotome.

Perennial herbs with glabrous branches up to 40 cm long; leaves petiolate on lower parts but usually sessile towards the apices of branches, oblanceolate to elliptic, 3-7.5 x 1-3.5 cm, acute, sharply lobed and with irregular teeth, glabrous.

Flowers borne singly in the axils of leaf-like bracts towards the ends of branches, the slender peduncle 8-25 cm long; sepals shortly connate, the lobes linear-triangular, 5-12 mm long, pointed; corolla with a slender tube 14-20 mm long, pale-green, the lobes oblong-oblanceolate, 9-12 mm long, abruptly constricted into a point, white or more or less tinged a bluish purple, glabrous; ovary semi-inferior, cylindrical, glabrous.

fruit more or less cylindrical, scarcely ridged, 12-22 mm long; seeds almost cylindrical, rarely laterally compressed, c. 0.7 mm long, densely papillose.

image of FSA3_Isotoma_pet.jpg Flowering branch and fruit.
Image source: fig. 622b in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Carolin in Jessop (1981) Flora of central Australia, fig. 450; Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 629.

Distribution:  Hillsides and usually associated with rock outcrops.

S.Aust.: NW, LE, GT, FR, EA, EP, NL, MU, SL.   W.Aust.; N.T.; Qld; N.S.W.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: mainly June — Dec.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water