Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Scrophulariaceae
Euphrasia scabra

Citation: R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 437 (1810).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: Yellow eyebright.

Erect annual herb 8.5-50 cm tall, the single stem with axillary branches developing from just below the inflorescence downwards in basipetal sequence in consecutive nodes, the leaves, bracts and calyces eglandular-scabrous, with at least the calyx also glandular hairy; the upper stem leaves and lowest bracts 6-14 rarely to 20 x 1-6.5 rarely to 9.5 mm, pinnatifid to serrate-crenate, with 1-5, usually 2 or 3, pairs of teeth.

Calyx 4.3-9 mm long; corolla 8-14 mm long along the upper side, yellow, externally pubescent throughout, the upper lobes facing sideways, obtuse to acute, the lower lobes obtuse to shallowly emarginate; anther cells 1.1-1.6 mm long excluding the awns, hairy along the slits and about the connective, the rear awns 0.1-0.3 usually 0.2 mm long.

Capsules 5-9.3 mm long, setose except at the base; seeds 0.4-1 mm long.

image of FSA3_Euphrasia_sca.jpg Havit, leaf, flower and fruit.
Image source: fig. 598C in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: W. R. Barker (1982) J. Adelaide Bot. Gard. 5, figs 12 & 96.

Distribution:  In moist grassy sites, in sand associated with dunes and salt lakes, and in sclerophyllous heath and forest.

S.Aust.: EP, NL, SL, SE.   In W.Aust., N.S.W., Vic. and Tas. only a few populations survive.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Oct. — Dec., much later in the mountains of the eastern States.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water