Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia genus Fact Sheet

Family: Solanaceae

Citation: Miers, Eadesia F. Muell., J. Trans. Vict. Inst. 2:71 (1858); Anthocercis sensu Benth., Fl. Aust. 4:474 (1868), partly, non Labill. (L. Haegi (1981) Telopea 2:176).

Derivation: Greek kyphos, bent or humped; antheros, blooming; in reference to the unilocular anthers.

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: None

Shrubs tomentose with branched hairs or pubescent with mainly simple or sparingly branched glandular hairs, with corky bark at the stem base; leaves alternate, simple, sessile or subsessile, entire.

Flowers in cymes aggregated into complex inflorescences or solitary and terminal, leaf-opposed, interfoliar or in branch forks, bisexual; calyx campanulate, 5-lobed, persistent; corolla regular or slightly zygomorphic, funnel-shaped, with a striated throat and 5 narrow- or broad-acute or blunt lobes; corolla lobes induplicate with inflexed margins in bud; stamens 4, in pairs of unequal length, included, inserted near the base of the corolla; staminode present or absent; anthers not cohering, 1-celled, subreniform, dehiscing by a single long curved slit; ovary 2-celled.

Fruit a smooth capsule dehiscing septifragally in 4 valves, partially enclosed by the scarcely enlarged ,calyx; fruiting pedicel erect or down-curved; seeds subreniform, not flattened; testa reticulate.

Distribution:  9 species, endemic to southern Australia.

Biology: No text

Key to Species:
1. Erect shrub to 2 m tall; leaves mostly 10-35 mm long; corolla lobes linear, 4-9 mm long
C. anthocercidea 1.
1. Rounded undershrub to 30 cm tall; leaves mostly 2-10 mm long; corolla lobes broadly elliptic to orbicular, 2.3-3.5 (rarely to 5) mm long
C. myosotidea 2.

Author: Prepared by L. Haegi

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water