Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Leguminosae
Acacia triquetra


Derivation: triquetrus (L.)—three edged or three angled.

Synonymy: Acacia acinacea

Common name: None

A spreading glabrous shrub to 1.5 m tall. Branchlets angled towards apex and ribbed below leaf bases.

Phyllodes narrowly oblong, oblanceolate to elliptic, abruptly narrowed at the more or less rounded and excentrically beaked apex, 10-25 mm long, 2-6 mm wide, usually inclined to ascending, straight or slightly curved; midrib not prominent, lateral veins obscure. Gland adjacent to the apical mucro, sometimes an extra one near the middle of the upper margin.

Inflorescence of 1-2 globular flower-heads on a short axis of 0.5-1.5 mm long. Peduncle 3-8 mm long, slender. Flower-heads globular, 10-18-flowered. Flowers 5-partite.

Legumes linear, to 6 cm long, 3-4 mm wide, straight to shallowly curved, mid to dark brown. Seeds more or less longitudinal, mostly oblongoid 2.5 -3.5 mm long, 1.3-2.5 mm wide, shiny dark brown. Funicle once bent and swollen to form an aril adjacent to the seed and half its length.

Distribution:  Restricted to South Australia on Eyre and Yorke Peninsula and on Kangaroo Island.

S.Aust.: EP, NL, YP, SL, KI, SE.

Flowering time: July to October principally September, pods ripe in November and December.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: An account of this species and its close allies was published by Maslin (1987b). A key is given to separate them and the distribution of some allies is mapped.

Cultivation: This may have been confused with A. acinacea in cultivation but will provide an attractive free flowering, moderate sized shrub.

Author: Not yet available


line drawing

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water